Emergency Planning

Emergency Management

NVCOG coordinates with other RPOs to plan for emergencies in DEMHS Region 5. Bristol is part of Region 3 and Cheshire, Ansonia, Derby, Seymour, and Shelton are part of Region 2.  The Region 5 group is led by the Chief Elected Officials of 43 municipalities, who work together to agree on priorities and establish a regional spending plan for equipment and training. In accordance with the state structure, the CEOs are aided by 15 emergency support function (ESF) committees to coordinate responder functions across municipal boundaries. These ESFs include public communication, fire, emergency management, transportation, public works, etc.

NV Emergency Planning Committee / Citizens Corps Council (EPC)

The Naugatuck Valley Emergency Planning Committee (EPC) coordinates emergency planning efforts in the CNVR. Fire, Police, EMS, emergency management directors, and others participate in these efforts. The EPC meets bi-monthly.

Community Emergency Response Teams (CERT)

The Community Emergency Response Teams (CERT) consist of volunteers who are trained to support local emergency response agencies. Operating under the directive of the municipal emergency management director, a CERT can assist a neighborhood when professional responders are not immediately available. Regional coordination occurs at the bi-monthly meetings of the Emergency Planning Committee / Citizens Corps Council.

Pre-Disaster Mitigation

Municipalities must prepare pre-disaster mitigation plans for hazard identification and risk assessment and to identify actions to reduce their impact. The resulting plan enables the municipality to be eligible for certain FEMA grants to lessen these risks. Subject to cost analysis, eligible projects include property acquisition, elevation of structures, and revision of local regulations. All of our towns are in the process of updating their plans.