About Us

Fundamentally, NVCOG is a planning organization, concerned with transportation, economic development, land use, Brownfields redevelopment, environmental and emergency planning for the Naugatuck Valley Region (NVR). NVCOG sets regional priorities for a variety of federal and state funding programs, oversees regional programs for member municipalities, and provides technical assistance to municipalities, state and federal agencies, local organizations, and the general public.

The Council of Governments (COG) is a forum for the chief elected officials of the nineteen municipalities located in the Naugatuck Valley (NV) region: Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Bethlehem, Bristol, Cheshire, Derby, Middlebury, Naugatuck, Oxford, Plymouth, Prospect, Seymour, Shelton, Southbury, Thomaston, Waterbury, Watertown, Wolcott, and Woodbury.  Each member municipality has equal representation on the COG board. 

Central Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments

The Regional Planning Commission (RPC) of the Naugatuck Valley is NVCOG's planning group. The commission consists of one appointed representative and one alternate representative from member municipalities.  The commission members are appointed by the municipal planning commission and the chief elected official for each municipality.  The RPC conducts bimonthly meetings and is mainly responsible for reviewing proposals that may have an intermunicipal impact, such as subdivision and zoning applications. 

The NVCOG staff performs the planning and administrative duties of the organization, required by federal and state statutes.